Perseverance or stupidity?

Today was a normal day.. except now that I look back on it, I seem to have learnt a lot! Maybe its because I am consciously trying to learn something new everyday now.. haha

Well to start off, I discovered that I can walk from NUS to my workplace! Isn’t that cool now? πŸ˜€ This will play a small part in my exercise for the day as well..

I always Β eat lunch with my fellow interns and since they are all boys, all they do is talk about football and cars! (and sometimes politics). I personally find all 3 topics pretty much boring and today I started stoning big time during the conversation.. So I guess I have to start reading up more about all these things if I want to be an interesting contributor during lunch time discussions!

Lastly and most interestingly..

Today we were working on a part of the project that involved plugging in a usb (containing a micro controller chip) into the comp and then doing some experiments with it. At about 5 pm (thats the time I usually start doing a mental countdown for work to finish), the usb stopped working. So we kept trying to make it work on different computers Β but it still didnt budge! After 30 mins of trying I gave up and switched off for the day.. But this dude next to me still didnt give up and kept trying to do the SAME THING! He even stayed up after 6 pm to try and make it work.. I didn’t know what to make of it.. is it amazing perseverance or just plain stupidity to keep going even though you know thats its a futile attempt? (Or maybe you go for it only because you think its not futile.. )

Interesting thing to think about I think. πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Perseverance or stupidity?

  1. “When to stop?” is the million dollar question! If you look at it, most of your decisions are about when to stop. I guess it depends on your objective and also what you do after you stop among many other things… πŸ™‚

  2. Heya,

    Your first statement is very insightful.. We find only what we seek. So, it is true that when we want to find learnings, we will find them. It would hence be the same with happiness or sadness as well! πŸ˜€ Nice one..

    Haha. .Football is an easy one to start with. Lemme know if you need a football 1101.. πŸ˜€

    Interesting one, I’ve always wondered as well whether it is persistence or stupidity.. I guess it depends on the context.

    Happy Friday! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

