Lowering Expectations- good or bad?

When you lower your expectations, you are never disappointed.. I quite like this philosophy. Its very difficult to work for something without thinking about the outcome, but when the results do come you are either very happy or neutral about the situation.. You never feel let down.

For example, I had very low expectations of this weekend. But at the end of it, it so happens that I had a great time! But even if it wasn’t a good weekend, I wouldn’t have felt bad at the end of it.

It is a sort of pessimistic attitude towards life though. I could have also made up my mind that this weekend should be amazing, and hence I would have worked towards making it so. Hmmm.. two different ways of thinking about the same thing..

6 thoughts on “Lowering Expectations- good or bad?

  1. I guess lowering expectations does help as it minimizes the pain. I’m not so much in that camp I guess.. I think it’s good to be disappointed/i.e. not meet your own expectations once a while.. ‘Joy wouldn’t be good if it wasn’t for pain’..

    Just my 2 cents though. I loved this quote about setting expectations being unreasonable about them..

    ‘The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one persists in trying to adapt the world to himself. Therefore all progress depends on the unreasonable man.’

    🙂

  2. Interesting one.

    Actually – no expectations is a really powerful philosophy. I wouldnt call it pessimistic at all. It is at the core of the gita (or any religion infact) and I am very much in tune with it. Except we need to interpret it carefully.

    What/Who should you expect less from? Yourself? Or the world? What the world gives you is not in your control – if you dont expect anything, everything is a bonus! This gives you enormous power and freedom to channel your energy to what you CAN control – yourself. And I feel you should have the highest of expectation from yourself (Simply in terms of sticking to your values if not anything else) – otherwise, things could get pretty depressing.

    Now your weekend has 2 parts – What the world gives you. And what you give yourself. If you expect little from the former, then it just frees up space for you to be proactive and make the most of it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

