Book Learnings- Who will cry when you die?

This book is by Robin Sharma and it was another good read. It was strikingly similar to the Greatness Guide however, so I don’t recommend reading both within short intervals.

I found all his advice very usable and practical, but since the Greatness Guide is so fresh in my mind, I thought I will just list down a few things that were new and really good.

1. Monkey Mind

To cure my abominable concentration (or rather the lack of it), Robin suggests making a column on the right side of a piece of paper and draw a line each time I see myself slipping. It has worked brilliantly. To see plainly how many times I lose concentration in one hour always leaves me more determined to improve. I suggest you try it out too! The google chrome extension stayfocsd http://www.stayfocusd.com/ also is helping me loads. 🙂

2. Practice forgiveness. I loved this poignant quote- “Forgiveness is the fragrance that the violet sheds on the heel that crushed it.” Once you let go of that tiny grudge against someone,  you feel so much more free and liberated! I am feeling the exact emotion right now 🙂

3. Your moods do not make you. This is something I have to keep reminding myself about. This great quote helps me do that.. “In the midst of winter, I found that there was within me an invincible summer”. Happiness is a state of the mind!

4. Robin made a very nice point about the future being untouched and unspoilt for us, no matter how much we have screwed up our past. In his words- “the next hour that comes your way will be perfect, unspoiled and ready for you to make the best use of”.

I didn’t quite get why the book is somberly named Who Will Cry When You Die, but it is indeed a very positive book to read. I liked the Greatness Guide better though, it felt as though the author was more confident of his words there. Practice makes perfect I guess. 🙂

Have a nice Thursday all!

2 thoughts on “Book Learnings- Who will cry when you die?

Leave a Reply

