How to write rejection letters

As you all probably know, I am looking for a job. And that of course, means that I am receiving rejection letters on a regular basis. As much as it was heartbreaking for the first few, I am slowly learning to just accept and move on. No use crying about spilt milk anyway!

I received a rejection email from a top consulting firm, and while I was disappointed that I didn’t get through, the letter was so beautifully composed that I actually smiled a little at the end!

Here it is-

Dear Shweta, 

Thank you very much for your interest in a position with <company>.

After a careful assessment of your application, we regret to inform you that we are unable to initiate discussions with you at this time. 

We have been fortunate to have received a large number of applications from outstanding candidates like yourself, and have had to make a decision on whom to interview based on relative differences in individuals’ skills and experiences.

Unfortunately our process does not support providing further feedback at the resume screening level.

I want to congratulate you for your past accomplishments and to thank you sincerely for allowing us the opportunity to evaluate your credentials. We wish you all the best in your career.

Yours sincerely,

<name of the recruiter>

Few things to note about the email-

1. It is personalised.

Starting off with a Dear <first name>, the person sending the email has also put her name in it, not just S.E Asia Campus Recruiting.

2. It seems to say that they really wanted to hire me but couldn’t, and its not my fault that I didn’t get chosen.

(Of course, I know that this isn’t very true, but it is just balm for a wounded soul.)

I wish all recruiters could see this and be a little nicer in their emails to us! The best way would be to not reject us at all, but oh well. These emails are just so simple to write, and would help in not screwing up the entire day after receiving a rejection.

Good luck with applications, all!

Leave a Reply

