TED Talks

I always like to unwind at night by having my dinner in my room, watching a TV show or two. I’ve made a big switch this semester though – watching TED talks instead of reruns of  my favourite shows. And boy, the change is fantastic! I really love listening to these talks! There are so many different topics as well – I have never felt bored watching TED this entire month.

Here are some memorable talks I watched this week. Most of these are rated “jaw-dropping” and they really are 🙂

http://www.ted.com/talks/lang/en/carolyn_porco_flies_us_to_saturn.html This one’s about Saturn and her moons. Who would have thought that Titan, one of Saturn’s moons actually has all the optimal conditions for life to begin?! The pictures taken by the Hubble Telescope are amazing. This talk gets 5 stars!

http://www.ted.com/talks/lang/en/rajesh_rao_computing_a_rosetta_stone_for_the_indus_script.html This talk is about a Computational Neuroscientist who deciphers the Indus Valley script in his spare time. Sounds hifi, right?

I wanted to be an archaeologist when I was in school (this was before I wanted to become a genetic engineer and discover the use of Introns in our DNA). My big dream was to be able to go to Mohenjodaro and Harappa and unearth some Indus valley treasures and subsequently, decipher the script! Unfortunately, I didn’t end up an archaeologist or a genetic engineer. ANYWAY. Enough of the drifting. The Indus script is the only ancient world script that has not been deciphered yet.This talk is really nice – a must watch if you like history and languages! 

Jamie Oliver’s dream to eliminate obesity in the world – http://www.ted.com/talks/lang/en/jamie_oliver.html. Love this talk as well. Really eye opening, and the speaker (who is a big master chef in the U.K.) is super passionate. Apparently, diet related disease is the biggest cause of death in the US, today. Homicide is right at the bottom.

These are my top three talks for last week. Hope you enjoy watching them. Let me know if you have any video recos for me!

2 thoughts on “TED Talks

Leave a Reply

