Decision Fatigue

Have you ever felt decision fatigue?

Decision fatigue happens when you keep making decisions that force you to choose one over the other. It is an act that sucks up tremendous amounts of willpower.

And what happens when you deplete your supply of willpower first thing in the morning? The rest of the day is generally sucky and unproductive.

This morning, I set the alarm to 5.15 AM. I kept waking up, hitting snooze (i.e. deciding to go back to sleep) and finally woke up at 6.45, exhausted from all that decision making, instead of being refreshed by the extra 1.5 hours. It is not just mental exhaustion – I was actually feeling physically tired!

And of course, we all know who makes the decisions in the morning when a warm bed awaits… the elephant of course.

So, taking a friends advice, I am implementing a new rule in my life: no decision making as soon as I wake up for 30 minutes. I need to have decided when I wake up and what I am going to do when I wake up the previous night. The elephant should have no chance to even start engaging in a dialogue with the rider.

I’m interested to see how much of a difference this is going to make. 

 

2 thoughts on “Decision Fatigue

  1. First, get “enough” sleep. That’s the only way you justify waking up early.

    “Enough” varies from person to person.

    I need 8 hours to “feel” rested – it’s psychology. I know of others for whom 7 is the magic numbers. And I know of a parent of a new born child for whom it’s 6.

    So, you’ll have to define that for yourself.

    All the best! 🙂

Leave a Reply

